My easy peazy spiced lentils! 

I wanted to start off a simple meals series on this blog to just share some of my favourite easy recipes with you guys. Hopefully it will come in handy for any of you guys starting university soon or moving away from home, or even people in search of some inspiration for a quick weekday meal!

I’ll just apologise in advance for the fact that I haven’t included pictures for the step-by-steps like I usually would. I genuinely made this meal in a hurry because it is one of my go-to dishes on a weeknight and I wanted to share it with you guys and keep posting (semi) regularly rather than have to wait until next time and do it again! 

This is such a cheap and tasty meal which makes it so satisfying to prepare. Also I am pretty sure it is vegan as well (?) Anyway, I hope you enjoy it and also let me know any other recipes you guys know that contain lentils because I’m determined to try more ideas!


Ingredients

1/2 mug of red lentils 

1/2 a large onion

1 tomato

1 can of chopped tomatoes/passata

Spices:

Garam masala (1 tsp)

Garlic and coriander powder (1 tsp)

Turmeric (1/2 tsp)

Hot madras powder (1 tbsp)

Chilli powder (to taste)

Step One: Preparation 

Finely chop the onion and tomato and rinse the lentils through thoroughly with cold water.

Step Two: Create spice paste

Heat oil of preference (I use coconut oil) and add the onions and tomatoes. Coat these in all of the spices (apart from the chilli powder) and one tsp of tomato passata. Cook the onions for around 2 minutes.

Step Three: Add the lentils 

Pour in the rinsed lentils and coat gently in the spice mix. Following this, add the rest of the passata/chopped tomatoes.

Step Four: Leave to simmer

Add a splash of water to add liquidity to the mixture; this will provide enough liquid to be absorbed by the lentils and make a tasty sauce. Cover the saucepan and make sure to stir every few minutes so the lentils don’t stick. 

Step Five: Final stage 

Keep the lentils fully covered until they are cooked. For the last 5 minutes partially remove the lid and keep half covered so the liquid partially evaporates and the dish isn’t too runny. When satisfied, serve as desired. Some serving suggestions include:

– A filling for a jacket potato 

– With a hearty side salad

– With rice 

– With creamy mashed potato (my personal favourite, if not slightly random, comfort food option!)

Thanks guys! ❤ 

3 thoughts on “My easy peazy spiced lentils! 

Leave a Reply

