L’Oréal detoxing clay mask review!

One thing I really wanted to get a grip on this year was my skincare. I feel like turning 21 is a new chapter in my life and I really want to take better care of my skin and keep it in the best condition possible. 

I recently purchased one of the L’Oréal clay masks from the new range. They offer three different types (red, green and black I believe) but I opted for the detoxing charcoal one to try and cleanse my skin of dirt and impurities which are so easy to pick up when you live in a big city like I do. 

My skin is very sensitive so I’m usually quite reluctant to try skin masks as they tend to bring me out in nasty blemishes and that defeats the whole object really!

First impressions 



The packaging is reassuring that the quality is high end and for the price it’s definitely worth it considering the amount of product you receive- enough for 10 applications or maybe more depending on how much you use at a time. I also liked how it comes in a jar which is so easy and straightforward compared to other similar products which need to be squeezed out of a packet or tube and can be messy and annoying. 

I got this in Boots for £5.99 on special offer but I think it usually retails at around £7.99.

Directions 

It basically instructs you to cleanse your face beforehand; removing all make up etc and then to apply a thin layer all over the face.

The mask itself is incredibly thick and viscous (being clay-based) but this means it’s very easy to apply evenly and to the target areas. It gets to work straight away and I really felt the tingling sensation, however it didn’t burn like a lot of other masks do for me so that was a huge relief! The photo below shows the colour and texture of the mask quite well (excuse the facial expression!) 


The instructions state to leave for 5-10 minutes but I already started to feel the effects after 5 minutes and the mask was drying too so I decided to wash it off (just with warm water and a face cloth.) Because it’s quite a thick mask this was a slightly messy process but the product washes off easily and left my skin feeling so soft and clean afterwards!

I did notice that my pores already looked cleaner after the first use and that was great. It recommends using between 2-3 times a week to achieve the best results and I think it’s something I’ll carry on with twice weekly and incorporate into my skincare routine.

Please let me know if you guys have tried this product or the other two types of mask. Also I’d love to hear recommendations on other affordable skincare products for sensitive skin! 

2 thoughts on “L’Oréal detoxing clay mask review!

Leave a Reply

