New year, new room.

Moving somewhere new will always be tough and involves a lot of stress and adjustment. With this now being my third time moving to a new place, I’ve adopted the mindset that my inner peace definitely comes from how I choose to decorate the space around me. After all, it is where I will be spending the majority of my time over the next 12 months!

I’m not going to lie, decorating on a budget is not always straightforward (there were definitely a lot more things I would have loved to buy but couldn’t quite afford) but I’ll include some tips as well as sharing some of my own personal examples of how to keep things cute and cosy without breaking the bank! I hope you manage to draw some inspiration.

Storage

For me it’s extremely important that things are kept organised and look tidy. However, this doesn’t mean that it has to be boring and bland. Retro style mason jars are a really cute place to store either make up brushes or stationery and I actually picked mine up at 2 for £1 in Home Bargains! I also saw a great idea on Pinterest for doubling them up as miniature plant pots to create your own herb garden-which I will definitely be trying out soon (https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/Ae8XkImXGwPwR_3y6XwUlLGwO19428AXkl0l9gaFdM7uiUgw5Dg8HGw/)

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

If you don’t fancy buying the jars, you can always re-use old jars. Last year I decorated an old Nutella jar for storing my cotton buds and a mini Pringles can for my make up brushes. Just be creative!

I am also loving acrylic storage solutions. I recently purchased a small set of drawers/make-up storage from Amazon and I think  it adds a very minimal and cool look to my room at the same time as keeping things tidy and out of the way. This was a big thing for me last year, as constantly rooting through a make-up bag was not only annoying, but also didn’t truly make me feel like I was at home.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Lighting

Another recent purchase which I am currently loving is my new lamp which I found in B&Q for only £15.99. Last year I had a bog-standard metal desk lamp which of course did the job, but really didn’t add much style to my room and wasn’t unique at all. I find lighting can really make or break a room and the cut out sections of this lamp really softens the room during the evenings and makes it much more cosy and relaxing.

img_1910

I also really like the effect which fairy lights create. THEY ARE NOT JUST FOR CHRISTMAS. Use them to emphasise a particular space in a room (i.e. a mirror or a notice board) or twine them around your bed to give your room a super relaxed feel at night. They can be picked up so cheap from anywhere nowadays and in almost any style, so there are endless possibilities.

Bedding

The bed is probably the most important part of any new room and it is of the utmost importance to make sure it is as comfortable as possible (what’s better than a good night’s sleep?)

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Duvet covers can be seriously expensive depending on the shop you go to, but it is possible to pick up some really pretty ones at great prices if you shop savvy. My newest bedding set (shown in the picture) is from Primark and only cost me £11, so I would 100% recommend checking out the range in there.

Another way that you can really ensure that your bed is your haven is by adding accessories such as pillows and throws, just to provide extra comfort and also give the room your own personal style. For example, I incorporate a lot of blue colours, as these are my favourites and even at 20 going on 21, I can’t truly sleep well without my stuffed animals!

Miscellaneous 

The last thing I want to talk about is just generally miscellaneous decor. Once you’ve got the essentials out of the way (storage, bedding, clothing) it is always nice to add a few extra bits and bobs just to convey your personality a little bit more.

Photos are always at the top of the list for me, as I love looking back at old memories with friends and family when I’m feeling homesick. My partner and I are also currently in a long distance relationship so it is comforting to have pictures there for when I’m missing him. I like to vary between having a few photo frames and also creating a kind of ‘photo wall’, which you can see in the image above.

A few other items which I have scattered around include maps (I love to travel so I try to pick up vintage maps whenever I can), candles, postcards/old greetings cards (which cost nothing when being reused) and my souvenir shot glass collection. I feel like all of these things just add character to my room which is great, because that’s exactly what I want to see when I get home after a long day!

 

Leave a Reply

